Craft for a Cause & OWH

I finally got to the local Jo-Ann Fabric and Craft store yesterday. They are currently running a contest called Craft for a Cause. Since the contest closes on October 30, I knew it was pretty much “now or never”. Besides, the sale going on there this week has been fabulous.

Here is the card I made for the contest:

Here’s a close-up of the front of the card:

I bought 23 items, most of which were cardstock and papers at only 20 cents each. I used only five items out of all that for this card:

  •  Gemstones cardstock  in “Jade “and “Amethyst” from Coredinations
  • “Lavender Rose” printed paper from Paper Pizazz
  • “Amethyst” 3/8″ ribbon from Offray
  • “Hugs” epoxy stickers from Heidi Grace Designs

I would like to have added some bling, maybe some lavender crystals, to the card. I actually bought some at Jo-Ann yesterday, but they were not the right shade, so I couldn’t use them.

I don’t really expect to win the contest with my card, but the entry may be able to help Operation Write Home win one of the three cash prizes to be given to the charities we are all making our crafts for. I know they need the money to help with shipping and other costs. I guess, even if that doesn’t happen, there’s one more card made for use by one of our deployed soldiers.

Thanks for stopping by!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 15:44:26

    Two of my favorite colors used in an absolutely GORGEOUS card – very well done! No matter what the outcome, you have been a success in creating and giving – way to go. I couldn’t be more proud of you, Donna.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

