No Sketch Challenge Today

Today’s card doesn’t fit with any of the usual card sketch challenges that I try to participate in. This card is strictly something I wanted to try.

I recently discovered Monica’s Creative Room online. She has some truly beautiful things posted on her web site, including SVG files which can be used with the Cricut and Make-The-Cut! software.

Some of her beautiful frames and borders appear to be very intricate, leading me to wonder how well they would actually cut. So my personal challenge today was to try one of them and find out for myself. And I must say, I was very pleased.

Here’s the card:

card 051

The card base is made from yellow cardstock with embossed dots on it (I don’t remember the company). The frame is cut from black Gemstones cardstock by Recollections. I also cut the “thank you” from the same black cardstock, using the “Beyond Birthdays” Cricut cartridge. The Layered Daisies are from K&Company.

The card came together very quickly. The only time consuming part was getting all the little pieces out of the frame. They weren’t cooperative enough to remain on the cutting mat. But it was worth the effort for the end result.

Now I’ll have to try more of Monica’s beautiful files. I’m sold!

Thanks for stopping by.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 16:13:58

    Oh, Donna! I love it, love it, love it!

    Reply

  2. Rufus
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:46:39

    GORGEOUS!!!!!! Wow, can hardly believe that it really did cut without having to be huge. Oh, I’m betting there will be more of these!
    R/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

