Birthday Card for Two Challenges

I’ve been away from making cards for a long time, primarily due to traveling over the summer. I took my tools and supplies, but just never had the right opportunity… or mojo! We’re back and settled and I’ve finally made a card I’m happy with. I’m submitting it to the Critter Sketch Challenge where “anything goes”. I am also submitting it to the Stars & Stamps challenge from OWH this week, using their sketch:

ss_89

I had been working with the focal of this card and just didn’t get it to come out right. I’d already torn apart the card, planning to start over. Before I could get back to working on it, this challenge sketch came to my inbox. It was the perfect sketch to use with this focal . So here’s my completed card (which I like WAY better than it’s predecessor).

11-10-Louise-b

Supplies used:

  • white and black cardstock from my stash
  • blue patterned paper from my stash
  • pre-colored Sentimental Flower Doodledallion Set from Fred She Said
  • small gold dot stickers from my stash

It’s great to be back in the swing of card-making. I want to thank all of you who have visited over the summer, even though I haven’t made any new postings. That will change – I’m ready to make cards again! And you’ll get to see them right here.

Happy crafting!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Housner
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 17:35:47

    the image is beautiful and worked great for the sketch – I am not sure about what I did either for hte sketch.

    Barb Housner

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 18:31:10

    Beautiful card!

    Reply

  3. Jen m
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 22:29:12

    Very pretty! The flower is lovely!

    Reply

  4. Linda L
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 22:37:06

    So very pretty. Love all the blue! TFS!!!

    Reply

  5. Holly Iossa
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 23:39:01

    I like the dimension the flower adds to the center. I also like the contrast of the dark stripes.

    Reply

  6. Carol L
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 09:35:43

    What a gorgeous flower, and I love those tiny gold stickers!!

    Reply

  7. Julie
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 10:38:23

    Welcome back, Donna! You’re right, that focal point worked beautifully with this sketch. Fantastic card. Thanks for joining us in this week’s OWH Stars & Stamps Sketch Challenge!

    Reply

  8. Pamela Tetreault
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 17:51:13

    oh wowzers.. this is beautiful!!! thanks for sharing ~ Pam

    Reply

  9. Yolanda
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 20:14:16

    Fabulous flower!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

