Birthday Card with a Bonus

Crazy4Challenges this week asked for “A child’s birthday card” (C4C120). It just so happened that a customer requested a card for her granddaughter’s 14th birthday in March. So this is the card I came up with:

12-01-Harriet-01a

The birthday girl is an avid reader, so I made a bookmark for the front of the card using her initials on the tassels. The bookmark slips out, revealing more flowers on the front of the card.

12-01-Harriet-01b

I added more flowers and some lace to the inside of the card.

12-01-Harriet-01c

I must say that I had a lot of fun making this card (in spite of having to cut out most of the flowers by hand). The end result made it all worthwhile.

Supplies used:

  • 7” by 5” card base cut from cardstock in my stash
  • patterned papers and stickers from “Aunt Gerti’s Garden” from SEI
  • Layered Arches” punch from Martha Stewart
  • lettered hearts that I’ve had in my stash for ages (don’t know who made them)
  • self-laminating pouch from Scotch
  • silver eyelet and brads from my stash
  • computer generated sentiment
  • silver peel-offs from my stash

Thanks for looking in on my work. Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

