I Couldn’t Resist

When this tutorial from Operation Write Home came into my inbox, I just HAD to try making one myself. This is the finished product from the tutorial on their web page.

santa

Here’s my card, though it’s not quite done, but almost.

IMG_0803

I followed the tutorial as best I could with the tools I have on hand. We’re traveling right now and I don’t have everything with me. But I like how it came out.

I don’t have the scalloped oval die, so I used the Spellbinders Classic Scalloped Circle die that I do have. I didn’t have the same embossing folder, so used Musical Flourish which was similar.  I don’t have any satin ribbon, so I used the grosgrain I had on hand. I used a pop-top from a soda can since I don’t have anything else that resembles a buckle with me. I used ordinary silver brads for Santa’s buttons. And I don’t stamp, so there’s no “Ho, Ho, Ho” on it. I have Christmas themed silver peel-offs at home and may add a sentiment later on.

Well, thanks for stopping by. Happy crafting!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 16:28:50

    Great job, especially with your limited tools! Love his beard’s swirlies 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kathryn
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 17:58:10

    Thanks for trying out the tutorial! I think you did a great job at making some substitutions with what you had on hand. That’s one thing that’s great about this card- there are lots of small changes that people can make so they don’t have to buy new things. I really like the embossing folder you used; I haven’t seen it before.

    Reply

  3. Nancy K.
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 09:30:58

    This is an excellent example of exactly what you can do with the things you have on hand! I am loving that embossing folder! What a jolly old elf you have made! Great job!!! Thanks for playing along with us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

