Making Cards Again

It’s been quite a while since I’ve had the time to make cards. I’ve missed it!

In October, we decided to sell our house and move back West. All of our family live there and it’s just time to get back to being closer to them all. Once that decision was mad, however, it put a screeching halt to all non-essential activities, card making included. I did manage to get Christmas cards made and sent, but in all the hub-bub, I forgot to take photos.

Now our house has sold, we’ve moved out and are living in our RV. We’re still in Florida, but will be heading west within a month. In the mean time, I’ve got spare time again. So I’ve done a few cards.

As part of the preparation for moving, I had to get rid of some of my paper crafting supplies and tools. What was left had to either fit into our RV or get shipped to relatives in Arizona until we can get there. Even some of what has been put into the RV is so buried that I won’t be able to get to it until we have a house and we can unpack it all. The bottom line is that my supplies and tools are very limited, but I’m finding ways to get by.

One of my previous clients called and asked for cards for her twin nephews who are turning ONE. It was a bit of a rush job and this is what I made for her.

 13-02-Harriet-01  13-02-Harriet-02

Then we learned that a neighbor had lost her 16 1/2 year old Schnauzer. Dusty was a sweetie. We dog-sat her several times and truly enjoyed having her. So a card was in order for our friend.

13-02-Dusty

Today I had the morning free and decided to work on a birthday card for my brother-in-law. I seem to struggle with masculine cards, but this one came together fairly well. I hope he likes it. I patterned it after a card I saw in the latest CardMaker magazine.

13-02-Ron-b

Soon I hope to enter card challenges again. I’ve missed that. Of course, once we get on the road, my crafting time will be minimal again. We’ll take almost two weeks to drive the 2200 miles from Florida to Mesa, AZ, including a 4-day stay north of Dallas to see the grandkids. And once in Mesa, the house-hunting will begin.

Thanks for stopping by. Happy crafting!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Spry
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 17:22:14

    I love your cards Donna…I will miss having you so close. I’ve been thinking about you lately and wondering if you were still at Bee’s…it looks so crowded there right now! Give me a call if you find you have a chance to get together…I totally understand if that won’t work! We’d like to get out West again and maybe we can visit you and Julian when we do!

    Karen

    Reply

  2. Rufus
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 22:43:05

    Looking at those you’d never know that you didn’t have ALL your toys close at hand! Hope you’ve had time to take that very deep breath!
    Hugs,
    R/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

